The Problem with Denim on Denim


Ladies and gents, it is time to address this issue. When I was seven years old, I thought that I put together a brilliant outfit; a pair of jeans with a jean jacket of the same exact color and fabric. I put on the outfit proudly, but little did I know that my sister’s conventional fashion wisdom would tell me that this is an extremely denim dominating outfit. She took one disapproving look at me and said, “Miri, never ever pair denim with denim.” After that, the rule went right into my fashion rule book.

You may ask why you can’t wear denim with denim. For me, it just looks weird and cheap. Just like you wouldn’t (or shouldn’t be wearing) a red shirt with red pants or a leather jacket with leather pants, you shouldn’t wear a jean jacket with jeans. Enough said about that, but if you still want to try owning this trend then here are some tips:

denim jacket denim jeans scarf Jessica Alba

The key is to pair different fabrics and different denim washes (or colors) together. For example, you can wear a light chambray shirt with dark skinny jeans. But color and pattern should somehow be incorporated into your outfit. You may choose to wear jeans with a print on them and pair that outfit with some coral flats, cute jewelry, and a bag.

Ask cf double denim spotted jeans

But try to keep the denim in one outfit to a minimum. While many celebrities are breaking the “don’t wear denim on denim rule” and it’s all over the runways, the trend just doesn’t work. For most women this trend is so hard to pull off and it just doesn’t look good! But are rules meant to be broken? Let me know what you think in the comments!

Thank you so much for reading!!

~Mirixxxx

The Problem with Denim on Denim

Leave a Reply

